U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Located in:

a. 1. A. Identify the regions and the local workforce development areas designated in the State

Current Narrative:

Alabama for a number of years was divided into three local Workforce Investment Boards. The local WIBS included Mobile county, Jefferson county and the balance of 65 counties. While this may have made sense at the time these decisions were made, we have now designated seven (7) new or reconfigured Local Areas. These seven (7) Local Areas have been formed with consideration of the changing dynamic and continued growth among the business sectors within the state, to improve services to rural Alabama, and to ensure that all citizens are served effectively and appropriately with local input. The seven local areas are:

Region 1, North Alabama Works! (Lauderdale, Limestone, Madison, Jackson, Colbert, Lawrence, Morgan, Marshall, DeKalb, Frankline, Marion, Winston, and Cullman Counties)

Region 2, East Alabama Works! (Cherokee, Etowah, Calhoun, Cleburne, Talladega, Clay, and Randolph Counties)

Region 3, West Alabama Works! (Lamar, Fayette, Pickens, Tuscaloosa, Bibb, Sumter, Greene, Hale, and Marengo Counties)

Region 4, Central Alabama Partnership for Training and Employment (Walker, Blount, Jefferson, St. Clair, Shelby, and Chilton Counties)

Region 5, Central Alabama Works! (Perry, Coosa, Tallapoosa, Chambers, Dallas, Autauga, Elmore, Macon, Lee, Lowndes, Montgomery, Bullock, and Russell Counties)

Region 6, Southeast Alabama Works! (Butler, Crenshaw, Pike, Barbour, Covington, Coffee, Dale, Henry, Geneva, Houston Counties)

Region 7, Southwest Alabama Partnership for Training and Employment (Choctaw, Clarke, Wilcox, Washington, Monroe, Conecuh, Mobile, Baldwin, and Escambia Counties)